I end my book Riding The Rim To Save America’s Wetlands with a quote from Mahatma Gandhi: “Be the change you want to see in the world.” Some may wonder why I choose this particular message for my readers. Perhaps an explanation is in order.

What I believe Gandhi was telling us is change requires each of us to become involved. It is through the process of becoming involved we experience who we are. Steven Covey in his book The 8th Habit: From Effectiveness to Greatness urges us to find our voice; to participate in change, to live and experience our significance. It is my belief that becoming an agent of change is one of the many ways to find that voice, to experience who we are.

For those who have chosen to become a change agent the path is not always easily traveled. It takes fortitude, resilience, discipline and above all, passion. Passion in seeing your beliefs through to the end, to demand excellence of yourself in whatever task is undertaken. Oh, yes,  there are always the naysayers, the antagonists who will mock your efforts and belittle your beliefs. I know from my experience with Riding The Rim the hurdles one encounters in effecting change.

I am often asked how to become a change agent. I suggest budding change agents should ask of themselves how they can effectively become part of that which they wish to experience in life. What can I do to find my “voice” and help others find theirs?  Where do my passions lie and how dearly do I hold them? Important questions, some not easily answered.

On initial examination Riding The Rim To Save America’s Wetlands may seem to be just another travel log about a guy on a motorcycle, another book on the aftermath of Katrina or one more digression on the plight of the wetlands. I plead guilty on all counts. The book is all of these and more. More than a narrative on the beauty of our great country, more than discussion on the economic and strategic importance of the wetlands, more than a motorcycle adventure. The book is about change. It is about “becoming the change I wish to see in the world.”

Terry Forrette, respiratory therapist, professional speaker, educator, and avid motorcyclist, will be with us to discuss the state of America’s wetlands on Friday, November 12, 2010, 6:00 P.M.


