Read: A Thousand Cuts by Simon Lelic

I’m not sure what made me jump into this one right after So Much Pretty by Cara Hoffman (which I loved), but I found similar themes in each.In A Thousand Cuts, a teacher who, according to staff and students alike, does not quite fit in, massacres several students and a teacher at an assembly, on violence at the school. Detective Inspector Lucia May, struggling to fit in with her colleagues at work, goes on a quest, despite her boss’s desire she wrap up the case, to find out where to place true blame. This book provides much fodder for discussion–it should be on summer reading lists everywhere.

Reading: The Book of Lost Things by John Connelly

This book has been on my TBR shelf for a long time–I know I carted it from New Hampshire to New Orleans. Since I was attending the Tennessee Williams Fest where John Connolly would be a panelist, I placed it on the top of the pile. Losing his mother and gaining a new stepmother, brother, and home pushes David over a boundary between this world and the world of the books he once read with his mother. Terrible beings dog his every step, and he must find a way to be the man he knows he should be. Connolly has a unique way of twisting beloved fairy tales. Earlier this week, like David, I heard my books talking to me . . .

Will Read:  Ruby Red (YA) & Caleb’s Crossing (Both are due out in May!)

Ruby Red appeared first in German and will soon be available here in English. The red cover lured me in, and I am a girl who cannot resist a book about time travel. Caleb’s Crossing is by Geraldine Brooks, author of People of the Book; the author’s reputation drew me to this. The book is historical fiction based on the first Native American to graduate from Harvard College.

