READ 

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier:  This English translation of the first in a German trilogy about a time traveling genealogical line is a must-read this May. YA lovers will devour it and demand that Henry Holt make with the translations of the second and third pronto. Kirkus Reviews: “As she narrates this fast-paced puzzler, Gwen convincingly conveys the bewilderment, fear and excitement of a teen rooted in the present but catapulted from her school-girl routine into the past. Bell’s deft translation captures an engaging heroine with a cell phone and a sense of humor, an emerging romance and a complex, unresolved time-travel mystery spanning four centuries.”

READING

On Writing:  A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King:  I started reading this on the plane from Louisiana to Baltimore, and I am sure the people around me thought I was batshit insane when I started laughing to myself. My laugh is no soft guffaw. This one is going right next to my copy of Bird by Bird and Writing Down the Bones. Every writer, would-be writer should read it.

WILL READ

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot: I have had this book on my tbr shelf for a year now, so I was delighted when the book club I faciltate selected it. It is hard to believe there is a person out there who has not heard of this book, but I discovered one on my plane ride. Nature:  “A real-life detective story, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks probes deeply into racial and ethical issues in medicine . . . The emotional impact of Skloot’s tale is intensified by its skillfully orchestrated counterpoint between two worlds.”

I lifted all review blurbs from the Indiebound website. ~Veronica

