READ

I tend to jump on the little red wagon a little late at times. I finished, over the course of my Book Expo America adventure, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Given I stayed up until two in the morning to finish it, the book compelled me. Something about it reminded me of the Tana French books, but I cannot quite put my finder on the link. Perhaps the solution to the mystery was obvious on some level; however, the subplots kept me running off on tangents. Although I don’t know when I will get to the other Larsson books, I will get to them.

AM READING

I am reading several things (shocking!): Haley Tanner’s Vaclav & Lena, Gaile Parkin’s Baking Cakes in Kigali, and A Trumpet Around the Corner: The Story of New Orleans Jazz (still, as it is so rich with history). I picked up Parkin’s  book at McNally Jackson, which has books organized by geographical region. I read the first few lines and had to have it. Random House provided me with an advanced reader copy (ARC) of Turner’s book, but I snagged it before anyone could chat it up. The summary on the back mentions magic–the book had me at “magic.”

WILL READ

I have so many recommendations swirling in my head, and I did ship home eighty pounds of books. However, I am reading Case Histories for a book club, and I am eager to read the YA book In Darkness by Nick Lake, which is about the earthquake in Haiti and focuses on a boy trapped under the rubble of a hospital who makes a supernatural connection with Touissaint L’Ouverture, the leader of the Haitian Revolution. Haitian plantation owners, nervous about this revolution, immigrated to New Orleans with their slaves (information courtesy of Donna Allen, owner of Maple Street Book Shops and former history professor). This Bloomsbury title drops in January of next year.

GDI,

Veronica Brooks-Sigler

Social Medium/Bookseller

Maple Street Book Shops/@fightthestupids

