As many of you know, a group of us were in New York City for Book Expo America. Thus, we have combined our data for the past couple of weeks:

1.  Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin (This just came out in paperback. It’s good but it was not able to bump Flynn’s Sharp Objects out of my top stop.)

2.  Bossypants by Tina Fey (Y’all love her!)

3.  A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (We should make TV shows out of his books all the time.)

4.  Goodnight NOLA by Cornell Landry (A perennial New Orleans favorite.)

5.  Blink:  The Power of Thinking Without Thinking by Malcolm Gladwell (Enough said.)

6.  Nine Lives: Mystery, Magic, Death and Life in New Orleans by Dan Baum (A Maple Street handselling special!)

7.  The Help by Kathryn Stockett (I cannot wait to see this movie, but I must admit I have not read the book, yet. Love Emma Stone.)

8.  Pat the Bunny by Dorothy Kunhardt (The fuzz always wins. Try this trick with an ebook.)

9.  In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson (We won’t talk about how I missed Larson at BEA because I had to go to the Apple store to replace the iPhone I left in a cab. Nope, won’t discuss it.)

10.  Room by Emma Donoghue (This is on my tbr pile.)

11.  The Moviegoer by Walker Percy (I’m not sure you can call yourself a New Orleanian if you have not read this.)

12.  The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (If you love this series, you should be reading, right now, Divergent by Veronica Roth.)

13.  Drew Brees by Jeff Savage (Reading is dreamy.)

14.  Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen (I saw this movie–will it ruin the book for me?)

15.  Frenchmen, Desire, Good Children: . . . And Other Secrets of New Orleans by John Churchill Chase (Another good one for those wanting to know more about NOLA.)

16.  Month-by-Month Gardening in Louisiana by Dan Gill (I need second by second–who has two thumbs, neither of which is green?)

17.  A Nest for Celeste: A Story About Art, Inspiration, and the Meaning of Home by Henry Cole (Audubon!)

18.  Our Kind of Traitor by John LeCarre (Yes, please cast aside your Kindles, pick up an iPad (we sell ebooks now), and become our kind of traitor.)

19.  Richard Scarry’s Cars and Trucks and Things That Go (Does the extra “r” mean more street cred?)

20.  The Saturday Big Tent Wedding by Alexander McCall Smith (Say yes to the tent?)

21.  A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan (I have a picture of her from BEA somewhere.)

22.  She Ain’t Heavy, She’s My Mother by Bryan Batt (My boyfriend!)

23.  Case Histories by Kate Atkinson (This month’s Lambeth House book club pick.)

24.  Ape House by Sara Gruen (Gorilla marketing.)

25.  Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith (I was not an extra in this movie.)

We have others I could list, but I’m going to stop at the first twenty-five. I’m not feeling as funny as I was a few seconds ago. However, I must plug one final book–So Much Pretty by Cara Hoffman. Why have you not read it, yet? Seriously, I’m disappointed in you. You should be ordering your copy from us right now.

Veronica K. Brooks-Sigler

Bookseller/Social Medium

Maple Street Book Shops

