READ

I realize Ann Patchett has a brand new book out (State of Wonder), but I am behind the times. I just finished The Patron Saint of Liars for a book club Maple Street runs at Lambeth House. Rose, a wed mother, flees in her car to a Catholic home for unwed mothers, where she becomes an invaluable part of the community, much to the chagrin of the mother superior. The book is told from the perspective of Rose, Son (the maintenance man at the home), and Rose’s child. It is about people being “on loan” to us for as long as the world allows.

READING

I’ve been on a mystery kick for the past month or so, and Bill Loehfelm (himself a mystery writer) suggested the books of Benjamin Black. Only partway through Christine Falls by Benjamin Black, I have already stumbled over a dead body. Well, more than one as the main character, Quirke, is a pathologist. Quirke discovers his brother by circumstance, Malachy, with his hand on the records of Christine Falls, and the book builds up steam from there.

Honeybee: Lessons from an Accidental Beekeeper by C. Marina Marchese has me telling my husband I want to raise bees. Marchese, founder of Red Bee Honey, makes it sound magical.

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin: Daily, people troll the store for one of the books in this series by Martin. A Clash of Kings is the second in the series. I’m trying to read most of the books before we watch the HBO show.

The Chairs Are Where the People Go: How to Live, Work, and Play in the City by Misha Glouberman and Sheila Heti is not something you have to read cover to cover. I read a few of the entries when I need a break from the storyline of another book I am reading. Some of the entries in the book are “Social Music,” “The Gibberish Game,” and “How to Teach Charades.” Heti worked with Misha to record his “self-help for people who don’t feel they need help.”

WILL READ

Next on my nightstand is a classic, A Passage to India by E.M. Forster. Yes, somehow I managed to escape my high school and college years without reading it.

