Not sure what is happening with my brain these days, but I am having a hard time focusing on much of anything. Andy Rooney passed. The election year  promises to be a nasty one. RiverRun Bookstore wonders if it will have to close its doors.

Although I had spent some time at RiverRun before 2009, in the summer of that year,  I was a staple there, somewhat like a stapler, in fact. Useful, noisy . . . I was so often there, a Random House rep asked, “So what else do you do? I mean, besides hang out here.”

I became good friends with Michele Filgate, who now works at McNally Jackson, and Liberty, who is still a RiverRun bookselling wildcat. Gwen found us all entertaining, and Tom Holbrook, the owner, was nervous I might break something. Of course, the reason why I connected with Michele and Liberty was because of Twitter, but RiverRun provided an initial meeting place.

Alice Hoffman was doing a signing at RiverRun when I met Liberty and Michele in person.  This was just the first of many events I attended where I had the chance to hang out with my friends and make new ones. I attended signings for Gesine Bullock-Prado, Luis Urrea (who just did a signing here because of our fortuitous meeting in New Hampshire), Joe Hill, Joseph Wallace, Emily St. John Mandel, and Elyssa East, among many others.  I spent an incalculable amount of time and money at RiverRun.

The summer of 2009 was one of the happiest times in my life due in no small part to what RiverRun gave me. I was content.

When RiverRun announced it was consolidating its used and new stores, I was not worried. However, when Tom, sent out an e-mail about the store’s potential closing, my husband and I were dumbfounded. How could we help?

Tom set up a donation page, and there are opportunities to buy into the store. He organized a meeting for this coming Wednesday, November 9, 2011, to discuss the possibilities. Portsmouth, NH, needs this bookstore. The Seacoast people need this bookstore. Authors and book lovers need this store.

If you are in the  Seacoast area this Wednesay, I hope you attend the RiverRun meeting at 7:00 P.M. If you are not, please consider becoming Tom’s partner or making a donation.

Thanks for listening to a bookstore lover’s plea . . .

xxoo,

Veronica

