I hate to follow memorandum with memorandum, but after nodding to Sendak’s recent passing I feel compelled to offer the same toward yesterday’s death of renowned Mexican author, Carlos Fuentes. I haven’t personally read any of his novels, but hailing from a border state with a Mexican population of serious import as I do, it seemed inappropriate of me to forgo an honorable mention altogether. I am still aware that his work has been recommended to me a number of times, and so, May being National Short Story month, I’ve decided to clear my nightstand of the two other books I’d recently begun exploring (almost coincidentally also short stories, The Collected Writings of Joe Brainard and Nesco’s Amsterdam Stories, but more on those another time) and pull a used copy of Fuentes’ Constancia and Other Stories for Virgins. I have a good feeling about it.

Descanse en paz Señor Fuentes.

Read his obit via the LA Times, here.

